Nobel Prizes 2019 uitverkocht

Jan de Boer, Paul Koenraad, Peter Notten, Joep Huiskamp
Dinsdag 29 oktober 2019, 17:30 - 20:30 (uitverkocht)
Blauwe Zaal Auditorium
Including buffet
Prijs: Gratis (Student) Gratis (Anderen)

The beauty of the research that lies behind a Nobel Prize will be explained during this festive evening by top scientists at the TU/e. Get to know everything about the Nobel Prizes in physics, chemistry, physiology and literature.

Please register beforehand for this event. Registration is possible until Wednesday 23rd of October. If you would like to register after this date, please contact Studium Generale (studium.generale@tue.nl) to inquire about the possibilities.

Winning the Nobel Prize still counts as immeasurable recognition for the winner and his or her team. Ask the Nobel Prize winner in chemistry Ben Feringa and a book will open. There is a life before and a life after winning the coveted, prestigious prize. What makes a research stand out and deserves the prize and what are its exceptional qualities? This is what this festive evening is all about, which brings you into the atmosphere of a real Nobel Prize evening.


Jan de Boer is full professor at TU/e’s department of Biomedical Engineering, where he leads the research group BioInterface Science. He is interested in the molecular complexity of cells and how molecular circuits are involved in cell and tissue function. He will bring you up to speed about the scientists and science behind the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2019, which was awarded jointly to William G. Kaelin Jr, Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza for their discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability.

Paul Koenraad is full professor at TU/e and heads the Photonics and Semiconductor NanoPhysics group in the department of Applied Physics. His research covers the study of nanostructures and impurities in III-V semiconductors. In his presentation he will elaborate on the research of this years winners James Peebles, Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz, who were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for contributions to our understanding of the evolution of the universe and Earth’s place in the cosmos. 

Peter Notten is professor emeritus at TU/e’s Energy Materials and Devices group, department of Electrical Engineering. His main interest includes the development of advanced battery and hydrogen storage materials and new battery technologies. He will explain all about the work of John Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino, this year’s Nobel Prize in Chemistry laureates. They receive this honor for the development of lithium-ion batteries. 

Joep Huiskamp is advisor and program manager for the Executive Board of the TU/e. He will command on not one but two Nobel Prizes: The Nobel Prize in Literature 2018 & 2019, awarded to Polish author Olga Tokarczuk (for a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life) and Austrian author Peter Handke (for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience).

This evening is organized in collaboration with the Institute for Complex Molecular Systems.

Tweewekelijks alle programma's gemakkelijk op een rijtje in je inbox?

Schrijf je nu in voor onze nieuwsbrief.